Play It One Last Time Sam

The Bereavement Register in England has recently come up with a top twenty list of the most frequently played tunes played at funerals. No. 9 was Every Breath You Take, by The Police.

Who in the fuck would play that damned song? It was strange to me at the time that the song came out that it was so many couples ‘song’. I would invariably ask these fucktards if they actually listened to the freaking lyrics. ‘It is about a fucking stalker,’ I would tell them.

Played at funerals, I suppose it is about a dead stalker. At my funeral, I don’t want a song telling everyone that I am going to haunt their ass. But then again I just might. I’ll be watching you fuckers.

Click here for the full story.

7 Responses to “Play It One Last Time Sam”

  1. Lol …Dont haunt my ….lol

    Why not? I thought turnabout was fair play. – Pure Evyl

  2. I wonder what song would be appropriate for your wake Evyl? Let me think on that – unless you have a favorite? Don’t Fence Me In comes to mind. 😉
    WC

    I was thinking more along the line of Nazareth’s, Hair of the Dog. – Pure Evyl

  3. It is kinda strange how that song has been adopted as a couples love song all these years, even more oddball as a funeral song.
    I think the worst funeral song i’ve heard alot has got to be Bette Midler’s Wind beneath my wings. Couple that with a video flashback of a person’s life and that gets ya real choked.

    I have heard tell of new technology tombstones. They could replay that tune and vid on rotation at the graveside non stop forever with a lifetime solar battery. Talk about your eternity in hell. – Pure Evyl

  4. The song they played at my Mom’s funeral was “I Can Only Imagine” by Mercy Me. The song itself it touching but add to that a personal loss and it’s just gut wrenching. Of course, it was hugely popular and played on all the contemporary radio sations for months! I didn’t listen to the radio for almost a year after that and even left a movie theatre on an anniversary vacation because it played before the movie and I couldn’t stop crying.
    Please stop using popular songs at funerals!

    I am sorry for your loss. I would imagine that it would be tough to hear a current song on the radio after listening to it on the radio. I say people should stick to the classics. – Pure Evyl

  5. I do want a bumpersticker on my casket that reads:
    I’d rather be breathing
    & I want to be wearing a real flashy Hawaiian shirt, sandals on my feet and a bigass cigar in my hand.
    Interesting (and odd) what some people choose for music at funerals.
    I was trying to think of a tune for you Evyl.
    You like NIN?
    A few tunes on “The Downward Spiral” could be outrageous…
    ~m

    That would be a good tune, as would Sympathy For the Devil, by the Stones. – Pure Evyl

  6. I’m gonna have Motley Crue’s “Running With the Devil” played at my funeral, because I know I’m going to hell.

  7. oops…I meant Van Halen, d’oh!

    Van Halen’s would be good but so would Motley Crue’s, Shout at the Devil. Particularly the intro. – Pure Evyl

Leave a Reply

