Panther Piss

I was watching the old boob tube and one of those damned new medication commercials popped up. I forget the name of the medicine but it was for RA. What in the fuck is up with that? I can remember when diseases and ailments had real motherfucking names not just some damned initials. I can remember when RA was still called Rheumatoid Arthritis. Hell, I can remember when it was just called Rheumatism and the only comfort from it was a big dose of corn liquor.

It was vividly portrayed in that epistle of cultural diversity, The Beverly Hillbillies. Granny was known from Bugtussle to Beverly Hills for her extra special Rheumatiz Medicine. Come to think of it I have been a little creaky in the old joints as of late. Perhaps I should just get me a big ol’ snort of some good ol’ Panther Piss.

13 Responses to “Panther Piss”

  1. You had me confused there for a sec, as over here, boob tubes were elasticated strapless tops worn by girls. Generally by girls who were too large to wear said tops, and looked like saggy cows.
    I guess if you are in enough pain, even Panther Piss sounds good.

    I would rather be watching those kind of Boob Tubes. – Evyl

  2. I always wanted to know what was in Granny’s ‘rhematiz’ medication.

    Looked like a good cure for coughs, colds and sore holes.

    Hells yeah, Corn likker is good for what ails ya. – Evyl

  3. I remember my mother giving me a shot of brandy for shock as a kid……….. now where the fuck was the brandy when I nearly took my foot off with the axe I’d like to know!

    booze. It’s good for many ailments.

    It’s good for what ails ya in moderation. It just took me awhile to understand moderation. – Evyl

  4. I have a big problem with all the acronyms and initials for everything these days. Have be become so lazy we can’t spell things out anymore? When it is speaking, it is easy to say it and when writing, it only takes one search and replace mission to update a document full of acronyms to real words. I guess we should just be thankful that we aren’t txt-spkng (yet).

    OMG, I was just talking to my bff and she said the same thing. But I was like IDK. But now I’m ROTFLMFAO thinking that IMHO you are so right. – Evyl

    P.S. – JFWY

  5. that should be “Have we become so lazy,” not “Have be become so lazy.” Obviously, I was too lazy to re-read what I wrote before I hit the submit button. D’oh! 😉

    So noted and I don’t take off points for spelling or grammar. By the way, when the fuck are you going to blogroll me? Without doing that people are going to start talking if we keep meeting like this. – Evyl

  6. Teeni and Evyl .. I never thought the two would meet. And possibly blogroll. *gasp*

    Stranger things have happened. – Evyl

  7. I always .. always! have a stash of White Lightning in the freezer. Mmm, does a body good!

    It does but Mezcal has it’s special place on my shelf. I prefer cactus over corn. And the worm gives it just the right kick – Evyl

  8. I do apologize for being late in blogrolling people – it took me a lot to do my spring cleaning! But you will now note that you are under the New and Fun Reads heading of my blogroll (in no particular order and along with many others so you can see why it took me a while) and you shall soon be moving to the regular part of the blogroll (don’t want to shock everyone all at once). Ahem. And where, might I ask, am I on YOUR blog roll? Hmmmm? 😉

    RE – “When the fuck are you going to blogroll me?” Gosh – that sounds so much like something we should be doing under the covers. LOL. And I do believe we probably have Ms. Red to thank for bringing us together. Thanks, Red! 🙂

    You’re right there on my sidebar, darlin’. And yeah, I have always thought that about a blogroll. There is also that similarity between good oral sex and a blogroll. You do me and I’ll do you. Thanks, darlin’ for doing me. – Evyl

  9. hey evyl
    I have IBS, and with my RLS and RA sometimes the groundhog sees his shadow.

    I used to watch the hillbillies, now that I look back, they were portrayed as some inbred idiots, todays Simpsons , JMHO

    The drug companies can’t get their piece of the pie, if we all have a beer(or 2) to help us sleep. They want us to take the sleeping aids, with all the side effects. FUCK EM

    Yep, a couple a beers is a hell of a lot cheaper and a lot less side effects. And a hell of a lot tastier. – Evyl

  10. Hi e,

    I’ve always wondered about the origins of the term, “boob tube,” since they refuse to show them in their free and natural glory on said device. I do, however, digress. What I really wanted to talk about was the flood of medicine commercials I’ve been getting lately, and in particular the ones for some, who cares about the name, sleep aid pill. The important point about this ad is that the obligatory list of horrible side effects includes a bunch of reported stuff that people tacking the drug have done while asleep. This includes driving, shopping, and a bunch of other crap.

    The point is that, if one could get a doctor’s prescription for this crap, one could, in theory, do anything one wanted, including rape, robbery, and murder, and blame it on the medication. I can see it now, “sure I knocked over a bank, killed 15 people while making my escape, and finished the evening by raping six women, but I did it all while asleep.” I really must remember to discuss the trouble I have sleeping with my doctor during my next appointment.

    the Grit

    I prefer to just fall back to the sexual somnambalism defense. – Evyl

  11. I love to take calls at the Dr.’s office for folks that use initals for all the ailments they need to be seen for.
    “I need to see the Dr. for my BP, RA, IBS, and a refill for my ED. Do ya think he could work me in before the weekend? I have a big date planned.”
    That is when I get off the phone and die laughing.

    Now that’s phunny!!! – Evyl

  12. I am always left wonderin ‘what the hell is that shit for?’ The drug commercials show all kinds of activities and happy people but never say what the hell it is that they are trying to sell or what the fuck it is for…the final statement is always ‘talk to your doctor to see if this is the right medication for you.’ I don’t know what ya gotta have to get some of them but everyone in the commercial seems to be happy…

    It’s not just medicine commercials. Half the damned commercials on TV make it a fucking mystery what the hell they are selling. It just pisses me off. – Evyl

  13. It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d without a doubt donate to this fantastic blog!

    I guess for now i’ll settle for book-marking and
    adding your RSS feed to my Google account.
    I look forward to new updates and will talk about this blog with my Facebook group.
    Talk soon!

Leave a Reply

