R-E-S-P-E-C-T

I was going through my posts that deal with my job as a Corrections Officer. It seems that I have a tendency to write as if I do not have a great deal of respect for inmates. Nothing could be farther from the truth. In order to get respect one must show respect. It is a common problem among many officers.

I remember when I first made lieutenant and an inmate approached me with a problem. I am always ready to help an inmate if that inmate has a legitimate complaint or grievance. The inmate stated that he had a problem with an officer on the day shift and was wondering if I would talk to the officer. He explained that sometimes the officer called him a punk and sometimes that the officer called him a bitch. He went on to explain that these were the worst two things that an inmate could be called.

I know full well that these are the worst names that one can call an inmate and told the inmate that I would talk to the officer. I went on to say, ‘There is no way that an officer has a right to talk to you like that. Even if you are a punkassbitch, no one should call you that.’ As the inmate left, I could see by the look in his eye that he appreciated my show of respect.

19 Responses to “R-E-S-P-E-C-T”

  1. And who wouldn’t? Your eloquence probably left him speechless!

    He did seem stunned. – Evyl

  2. Hahaha….I love adding “ass” in the middle of “something” bitch…stupidassbitch….dumbassbitch….whoreassbitch…it works πŸ™‚

    It is a handy little conjunction. – Evyl

  3. Punkassbitch. That made me feel all warm and fuzzy.

    πŸ™‚ – Evyl

  4. Some snotty little intern has a new name tonight. Thanks again, Evyl. πŸ™‚

    You are welcome. Give ’em hell. – Evyl

  5. Most excellent πŸ˜‰

    Thanks, darlin’. – Evyl

  6. If only the rest of the population had as much respect…

    True, true. – Evyl

  7. Punkassbitch is a term of endearment in our house.

    To tell the truth, I have been called far worse. – Evyl

  8. oooo skankasswhore in law…………. the swil has a new name πŸ˜‰ lol

    Phunny. Give ’em shit. – Evyl

  9. Nicely handled πŸ™‚

    You have to make the job fun. – Evyl

  10. hmmmm don’t know you very well yet so i’m torn between you being sarcastic and that being heartfelt…

    πŸ˜‰

    R~E~S~P~E~C~T
    *wiggling my ass to that*

    One can’t be both at the same time? And thanks for the ass wiggle. – Evyl

  11. Very kewl. I think U seriously rock & I just had 2 say that! ; D *muah

    Thanks darlin’. I appreciate it. – Evyl

  12. CrazyDan Says:

    I wanted to comment on a comment. Skankasswhore in law, you made me realize how brillant added the in law is. I can cuss at my in laws but adding the little in law is brillant!

  13. Hi Evyl,

    What crappy liberal State are you stuck in? In Memphis, the inmate’s gangster brothers would have killed the offending officer and, if said inmate wasn’t under the protection of a gang, the officer he whined to would have clubbed him into unconsciousness. Really, we’re not ranked the number two city in the country where violent crime is concerned for nothing! That’s why I’ve always said They’ll never take me alive.

    Seriously, I can’t imagine the circumstances that would make me do your job. Thanks for your service.

    the Grit

    Every state is a little more liberal these days but here in Texas there is still a good strong conservative streak. Thanks for the props but really, I am just doing a job that needs done. – Evyl

  14. Your service makes me very grateful, and your respect I’m sure has stuck inside the inmate’s head. It’s amazing the impact we can make through merely a word or two.
    Excellent blog, my friend!
    Cheers!
    – Jo

    Thanks Jo. I appreciate it. And thanks so much for commenting. I always appreciate it. – Evyl

  15. *chuckle*

    ‘punkassbitch’. Damn my imagination.

    Glad ya liked it and I am still trying to figure a way to fulfill that tag. – Evyl

  16. Doktor Holocaust Says:

    “even if you are a punkassbitch, no one should call you that.” that’s going in my quotes file.

    I always love your posts about your work, as they always show you bringing some wit and humor into an environment where it is most appreciated.

    It is a place where one must use humor to avoid becoming bitter or going crazy. – Evyl

  17. I wish you were my Corrections Officer. *evil snicker*

    Seriously, kudos to you for your grace and style!

    Up against the wall and spread ’em, darlin’. – Evyl πŸ˜‰

  18. Feel free to spread the power of the added ‘in law’ oooomph to your cussing CrazyDan πŸ˜‰ lol

  19. It’s awesome when you have a comeback like that just right there on the tip of your tongue when you need it.

    I’m generelly fairly decent at it although it pisses me off when an ultimate comeback hits my brain thirty minutes after the fact. – Evyl

Leave a Reply

