Bad Economy Creates Cookie Monsters

Today while waiting for my eye exam at the mall, I was sitting at the food court sipping on a soda and munching on a chocolate chip cookie from ‘The Great American Cookie Company.’ Looking around I couldn’t help but notice that there were a lot of empty shops even the Disney Store was closed. But soon the epitome of the modern mall came walking briskly by the cookie store. Casing the joint out she noticed that the clerk was in the back baking up some cookies, she did a quick about face, and snatched about six cookies from the sample plate. She mean mugged me as she walked by as if to say, ‘WTF are you going to do about it.’ I gave her my best ‘I don’t give a flying fuck smile.’ and watched the old grizzled mall-walker step her happy ass down the aisle.

Is that what this economy has come to? When fast stepping old mall-walkers are stealing cookie samples to survive? That’s just fucking sad.

17 Responses to “Bad Economy Creates Cookie Monsters”

  1. What? They put out SAMPLES at your mall? WE don’t get that! Now I know why, though.

    True, damn theiving mall-walkers, spoil it for everyone else. – Evyl

  2. I agree, it is truly a sad state of affairs. I guess the positive side of it is she got to eat something. Being one that worries about everyone, I would have offered to buy her something to eat or given her some money. The Joy of going out is slowly being taken away from us. This is a perfect example of why I stay at home more than I ever did in years past. It breaks my heart to witness stuff like this. But one cannot live in a box or bubble either, so when I am witness to moments such as you did, I do what I can to help. I imagine she mean mugged you just in case you were going to challenge her. Older people are much tougher than they used to be. It is what they are having to do to survive. Going to the mall and snatching up some cookies was much better than going home to a can of catfood.

    Nice post, there are so many who haven’t got a clue what is happening all around us. Awareness and Education is key, and you did that with this post.

    Thank You for the visit also. I loved your quote.
    Hugs,
    Passion

    She had on a stylish windsuit and expensive jewelry. Most likely the bad economy may force her to stop shopping at Dilliard’s and start shopping at Target. My heart fucking bleeds. – Evyl

  3. Oppps…I forgot to ask, I love chocolate chip cookies, did you save one for me? *Winks*

    No but give me a holler and I can whip up some of my famous Peanut Butter, Oatmeal, Chocolate Chip Cookies. They are decadent. – Evyl

  4. Yes, it is fucking sad.

    A true shame. – Evyl

  5. Isn’t it open season on grizzled mall-walkers? They are a bit gamey, but they can be tasty in a rich stew.

    Much like jackrabbit. – Evyl

  6. The brazen old fart prob just wanted a cookie. If it were me I would have at least given you a wink and a smile and offered you another cookie (think quick-where have my hands been). I may have asked for a sip of your drink.
    KARMA Evyl, she probably got choked down the Mall-road and laid there until the stores opened.
    trick or treat!

    Hells Yeah!!! – Evyl

  7. Maybe she was taking them back to all of her mall walking buddies…she could have at least offered you one…

    Now I want a cookie…. off to the mall.

    Have fun. I suppose the Park Mall. It is one of Texas’ premeire malls. – Evyl

  8. She may have been a skanky old cookie-stealing hag but one never knows. She may had had nothing to eat except those cookies but stealing is still wrong.
    I am not sure how I would have reacted. I like to think I would have been compassionate but probably I would have just been pissed.
    On Saturday an old man pulled out of a handicap space and almost plowed right into me and then, even though he was at fault, he gave me a nasty face and stuck his tongue out at me!! Mean old bastid!

    Just because the old bastard has a free ride on the parking doesn’t let him own the road. Should have flashed the old fart and gave him a fucking heart attack. – Evyl

  9. Geez, you gotta keep yur energy up for crying out loud. People get pretty testy when the sugar levels start acting up. But she is pretty cheap.

    I used to have a friend that rode to work with me have me drop him off and Sam’s Club at least once a week so he could roam the store and eat the samples till he’d had enough and then he’d go home and not worry with supper.

    Sam’s Club has to be the ultimate free sample buffet. – Evyl

  10. Prompt The Great American Cookie Company to put out free laxative cookies.

    That would so fucking rule. – Evyl

  11. It is pretty pitiful. Not to mention it probably negated the exercise she was getting!

    Her walking was most likely a con to steal shit. – Evyl

  12. No wonder she’s gotta walk the mall, if all that bitch eats is free cookies.

    I suppose that GNC doesn’t give free samples. – Evyl

  13. Doktor Holocaust Says:

    free cookies are free cookies, dude.

    True. – Evyl

  14. That is truly sad.

    The Trailer Of Love

    It really is. – Evyl

  15. Our Great American Cookie Co closed. No room for niceties like cookies in our economy….

    That is truly a shame. – Evyl

  16. Hi Evyl,

    Why didn’t you shoot her? You could have at least put one in her leg.

    the Grit

    I rarely carry my weapons in public unless I am on duty. It’s too much of a temptation. – Evyl

  17. Rich people are starving too. They are just better dressed these days. Sticking my tongue out at you! *Winks*

    Oh, please, my hand it up and I am hollaring for your ummm…cookies! *grin*

    I’ll whip up a batch. And that tongue sticking out really does something for me. 😉 – Evyl

Leave a Reply

