A Crack Ho Christmas Carol

Maggie leaned against the graffiti smudged concrete wall and inhaled deeply of the glass pipe. Not even the jolt of ice coming from the pipe seemed to liven her up. It was Christmas Eve but still she waited for some semblance of the Christmas spirit to enter her. Her last trick had left her even colder.

A wine sodden Mall Santa had slipped his ‘North Pole’ up her rear chimney while uttering ‘Ho, Ho, Ho’ behind the trash dumpster outside the Great American Cookie Company.  Oh well, it’s better than sucking a bell ringers candy cane, she thought to herself. Those guys fishing through the kettle to pay her off always made her feel sad.

Another hit off of the pipe and Maggie thought through the haze. She ventured back to a time when she was a fresh faced girl new to the game. Standing on a street corner, gathered around a burning trash can,  surrounded by fellow crack-whores and sipping Mad Dog 20/20 straight out of the bottle wrapped in a crisp brown paper bag. Their pimp, Big Daddy J, had pulled up in his pink Cadillac El Dorado and given each of them a fur lined crotchless panty to protect their assets on the cold winter nights.

Although that was only two years ago, it seemed like a lifetime to Maggie. Just one more hit left on the rock. She drew it in slowly and headed out. She managed a wan smile as she departed saying to herself, ‘It’s tricks for tips not toys for tots.’

7 Responses to “A Crack Ho Christmas Carol”

  1. Very poignant story. The thing is, I believe it’s really happening somewhere in this country this evening.

    I was going for a funny twisted carol and this drivel just popped out. Strange things can happen when you just start typing with no direction in mind. – Evyl

  2. Not a happy subject, but the writing was really good Evyl. You should do this more often. Have a wonderful Christmas. 🙂

    Hmmm, You are far too kind. – Evyl

  3. I enjoyed this little tale.
    Nice to have a reality check now and then I think, because regardless of how it was meant to come out, there is doubtlessly a huge element of truth behind it, in probably many places around the world….

    Strange how these things come out. I hope your Christmas went well. – Evyl

  4. The whole time I was reading this I was thinking exactly what the first 3 commenters were…somewhere that is happening tonight and its so sad.

    The world can be that way sometimes. It’s not all fun and games. – Evyl

  5. Cue SAVATAGE!

    So after all these one night stands
    You’ve ended up with heart in hand
    A child alone
    On your own
    Retreating
    Regretful for the things you’re not
    And all dreams you haven’t got
    Without a home
    A heart of stone
    Lies bleeding

    And for all the roads you followed
    And for all you did not find
    And for all the things you had to leave behind

    I am the way
    I am the light
    I am the dark inside the night
    I hear your hopes
    I feel your dreams
    And in the dark
    I hear your screams
    Don’t turn away
    Just take my hand
    And when you make your final stand
    I’ll be right there
    I’ll never leave
    All I ask of you
    Believe

    Your childhood eyes were so intense
    While bartering your innocence
    For bits of string
    Grown-up wings
    You needed

    But when you had to add them up
    You found that they were not enough
    To get you in
    Pay for sins repeated

    And for all the years you borrowed
    And for all the tears you cried
    And for all the fears you had to keep inside

    I am the way
    I am the light
    I am the dark inside the night
    I hear your hopes
    I feel your dreams
    And in the dark
    I hear your screams

    Don’t turn away
    Just take my hand
    And when you make your final stand
    I’ll be right there
    I’ll never leave
    And all I ask of you is
    Believe

    I never wanted to know
    Never wanted to see
    I wasted my time
    Till time wasted me
    Never wanted to go
    Always wanted to stay
    ‘Cause the person I am
    Are the parts that I play
    So I plot and I plan
    Hope and I scheme
    To the lure of a night
    Filled with unfinished dreams
    And I’m holding on tight
    To a world gone astray
    As they charge me for years
    I can’t pay

    I am the way
    I am the light
    I am the dark inside the night
    I hear your hopes
    I feel your dreams
    And in the dark
    I hear your screams Don’t turn away
    Just take my hand
    And when you make your final stand
    I’ll be right there
    I’ll never leave
    And all I ask of you is
    Believe

    Allrighty then. – Evyl

  6. too much?..a’ight

    did she have nice boobs then?

    As long as you don’t mind a few festering sores, they were spectacular. And I didn’t think that it was too much, I just fell back on the old philosophy that if you don’t have anything to say back just be a wise-ass. – Evyl

  7. I thought back to a few months ago when I was heading into the food court near work (early morning, Boston, 7:00am)
    A guy was huddled inside the glass doors just lighting a rock.
    Damn, the shit really stinks and I’ve no doubt that though they eventually crave it on a hourly basis although it makes them feel the same goddamn way. Addiction is truth for these sad souls.
    You unknowingly touched on something here my man.
    Love ‘Buddy’s’ comment though.
    Both of ’em, a’ight?
    :mrgreen:
    ~m

    A’ight. – Evyl

Leave a Reply

